VCCJA Awards

In 1998 VCCJA began a tradition of presenting awards at the annual training conference to recognize individuals and organizations that made significant contributions in the areas of community corrections and pretrial services and in carrying out the mission of the association. Over the years the selection process, number and type of awards has been modified in response to membership input. What follows is a complete history of VCCJA Awards presented.

VCCJA Awards History

Award of Excellence (Prior to 2002 this award was called the James F. Almond Award)

1998	Clyde Cristman
1999	Honorable Diane McQuade Strickland, 23 rd Judicial District
2000	Virginians Against Domestic Violence
2001	Dan Catley
2002	National Institute of Corrections
2003	Anthony Casale
2004	Glen Peterson

2006 Patricia Smith

2005 Lloyd Young

- 2007 Marie Van Nostrand
- 2008 Dick Hickman
- 2009 Katie Green
- 2010 Pretrial Justice Institute
- 2011 Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services Division of Criminal Justice and Mental Health Initiatives
- 2012 Drew Malloy
- 2013 Virginia Sheriff's Association

CCJB Award (This award was discontinued as a separate awards category in 2010. CCJB's are still eligible to be nominated under the Distinguished Service Award category.)

1998	Fauquier/Rappahannock
1999	Chesterfield/Colonial Heights
2000	Rappahannock Area
2001	Southwest Virginia
2002	Henrico
2003	Thomas Jefferson Area
2004	Riverside
2005	Colonial
2006	Thomas Jefferson Area
2007	Culpeper
2008	Hampton/Newport News

2009 New River CCJB

Outstanding Director's Award

- 1998 Glen Peterson
- 1999 Patricia Smith
- 2000 Christina Frank
- 2001 Richard Martin
- 2002 Bettina Hundley
- 2003 Katie Green
- 2004 David Pastors
- 2005 Bruce Cruser
- 2006 Sandra Langford
- 2007 Sharon Jones
- 2008 Freda Holliday
- 2009 Winston Marcus
- 2010 Andrew Lawson
- 2011 Cynthia Plummer & Amanda Wimberly
- 2012 Steve Austin
- 2013 Andy Warriner

Rising Star Award (This was a new award introduced in 2009 and discontinued in 2010)

2009 Stefanie Spicer - Fauquier

Meritorious Service Award (This award was changed from one per year to one per each region in 2005 and then changed again to two per year regardless of region in 2010)

- 1998 Shauna McQuillan
- 1999 Janet McConnaughay
- 2000 Tom Pavelko
- 2001 Donald Farry, Jr.
- 2002 Jane Hardell
- 2003 Steven Becker
- 2004 Ross Carew
- 2005 Andy Warriner

Dawn Hynes April Guynn Tracey Jordan 2006 Rhonda Ford Katie Van Patten Jami Pease Vanessa Cannady 2007 Craig Worley Charlene Johnson Leslie Egen Angie Dotson Cecil Collier 2008 Gunther Nothnagel Tisha Skinner 2009 Tina Emmerson Robyn Puryear 2010 Joyce Sylvia Jane Hardell 2011 Charlotte Walmon Shelby Johnson 2012 JoAnn Durham Barbara Hatton-Hall 2013 Allison Graham

LaSonja Godette

Distinguished Service Award (Reduced from three awards to one in 2010)

1998	Tracey Jenkins, Catherine Heritage, Pat Smith, Bruce Cruser, Kerri Sporer
1999	Tony Casale, Larry Moffett, Sandra Langford, Katie Green, Peggy Cooper
2000	Vivian Moore, Bobby Whitehurst, Vicki Chrisley, Dave Pastors, Sheriff Don Hunter
2001	Coetta Hoge, Stephen Carneal, Freda Holliday, Colonial Community Corrections Staff

Laura Perez

2002	Rhonda Ford, Amanda Hayes, Tracey Jenkins, Thomas Parker Staff of New River Valley Regional Jail CC & Pretrial Program
2003	Tom Beattie, Richard Brown, Tiffany Embry, Kenneth Rolomn, Tisha Skinner
2004	Paula Harpster, Suzanne Linkonis, Vickie Thompson, Stan Wallace, Angela Hamilton
2005	Carrie Sue Geiger, Lisa Judkins, Andrew Lawson
2006	Ann Harris, Connie Stimpson, Jason Spindle
2007	Portsmouth Community Corrections and Pretrial Services, Lisa Edwards Tracy Vidrine, Nakelia Gilliam, Greg Harpine
2008	Elizabeth Bowden, Sally Kerns, Kevin Thompson, Angel Walters
2009	Jana Braswell, DCJS, Tom Pavelco, Hampton-Newport News CJA
2010	Kris Bryant
2011	Leigh Romero
2012	Steve Wilhelmsen
2013	Courtney Haugh